Online Dating: Scary-A$$ Tinder Date in Ontario, Canada April 2017

So, this story thankfully did not happen to me. Instead, it happened to someone that my friend’s colleague knows. I know it sounds funny. Seriously, my good friend heard it and immediately left us a voice message in our group chat on WhatsApp. My friend is a nurse in Toronto and his colleague had just told him what happened to someone she knows regarding her Tinder date.

Now, before I begin, I must say that I Googled to try and find this story online – But, nothing so far. Also, I know the truth tends to be stranger than fiction. So, I am taking this story seriously in case anyone gets less vigilant using dating apps. However, it also seems too unbelievable to be true. But, just in case, I am sharing! I mean it’s a scary world out there, be careful! I know we are not in America, but Canada can be a scary place too. Update: Another friend found a similar story online, which took place in Boston USA.

Ok, my friend was working the night-shift at the hospital and he immediately left us a voice message. It was a story his colleague told him about someone she knew – So, she was talking to this guy on Tinder for over a month. They hit it off and went on a date last Friday.


“he was a good looking guy, early 30’s, intelligent, successful business guy, blah blah blah…”


Tinder Scare
Photography Credit PEXELS, free stock photo

During the date, they got along and hit it off even more so– My friend didn’t see a picture of the guy the girl went out with, but was told that “he was a good looking guy, early 30’s, intelligent, successful business guy, blah blah blah, whatever. Anyway, they were on the date and ended up kissing and making out. After their date, he offers to drive her home, but she obviously declines because this is the first time she has met this guy in person, on top of that she was going to be house-sitting for her parents.”

After the date, they say their goodbyes and she gets home safely, no issues (her parent’s house). She proceeds to start getting ready for bed, following her usual routine. When, all of a sudden she hears this strange noise coming from the basement. Apparently, her parent’s furnace had been acting up and she thought that was it. However, just in case she called her dad and tells him that there is something going on with the furnace. Her dad told her no that is absolutely impossible, because they just installed a brand new furnace and there shouldn’t be any strange noise. Well, the noise stops and she didn’t think anything of it. So, she gets into bed and falls asleep. Suddenly, the phone rings. She wakes up and rolls over to pick it up. It was the police. They tell her to get out of the house immediately and quietly, because her neighbours just called them when they saw a man breaking into her basement. They said they would be there ASAP.

Scary basement
Photography Credit PEXELS, free stock photo

My friend proceeds “I don’t know the details, but she manages to get out quietly and safely into her neighbours place.” In the end, the police came and caught the perpetrator and it ends up being the guy she was on the date with. When the police went into the basement, they found tarp, a table, and surgical instruments. What he was going to do with all that, they don’t know, but we can guess.

My friend continues “this happened in Mississauga, can you imagine? A “nice” Tinder date, which is so unbelievable and only happens in the movies, but, I guess there are freaks everywhere.” All I can say is, I am surprised and agree that there are freaks everywhere. I grew up watching the active serial killers getting caught (all the famous ones, including, Dahmer and Bernardo), so it was doomed to happen, a new breed of serial killer psycho.

I was wondering why this story was not posted online, nor, did the police send a quick note to the public to be extra vigilant whilst they use dating apps and “hook up” with strangers. Maybe it’s their protocol to monitor and not publicize too much, in case of copy-cat freaks. I don’t want to quote the movie “Scream”, but do the movies and television make serial killers or do they just give them ideas? I’m paraphrasing, but know that copy-cat types are all too real.

In this instance, this girl did not technically “hook up” and refused a ride home from a stranger. However, this is a scary story straight out of a safe-as-heck suburb. I mean, talk about channelling your inner Dexter dude, really? I am not on Tinder, but do regularly tell people that you are dealing with strangers for hooking up, just be careful. You are vulnerable, male or female.

Author: Sparkle

Recovering perfectionist encouraged to blog so I no longer over-think and try to produce the best-written items in the world. Just trying to write, even if it's not perfect. It will help me along my journey and might help another person too.

Leave a Reply

