I found my Self-Care guide: Something I could’ve used in 2016

The other day, I found a self-care package (pdf) that I created for an overworked friend back in 2012. At the time, I had returned to university and studied something I had been passionate about since I was a kid (psychology, with a focus on research). However, I had an “adult life” before returning to school and had friends in the “real-world” still working in “real jobs” that were making them “real sick”.

My friend had reached out to me about his struggle with burn out. I understood, since I’d had been dealing with burn-out prior to returning to university (part of my 1st re-birth, totally separate story – quick summary: I did what I wanted, even when other’s warned me not to. I did it, loved it, succeeded on my terms, and came out a stronger and better human).


“I had an “adult life” before returning to school and had friends in the “real-world” still working in “real jobs” that were making them “real sick”.”


In 2012, I created a quick and very draft self-care guide for my friend and he really loved it. I remember that I sent it out to other over-worked friends for use and feedback. The draft remained, because the people who used it like it as is and I didn’t have time to update anything. Then, I forgot. In 2013, I was finishing my thesis and started working full-time again. I forgot everything for a while. In retrospect, that was probably my first mistake, I should’ve trusted my new life instead of going back with the intent of money and security.

Fast forward 2017…

I’m de-cluttering and cleaning-up my life, home, and computer files. During my clean-up, I found my self-care guide and read through it. I was surprised by how helpful it was, even in it’s very raw form. I realise that I should keep a copy of this guide with me always – I could’ve used this in 2016, when work was running me down.


“Maybe this time, I’ll trust following my bliss, otherwise, I’ll be doomed to repeat past mistakes.”


Forgetting my path and my self-care guide – That’s probably why I burnt out and got sick in 2016. Since then, I had the opportunity to recover fully (thankfully) and have another re-birth. Maybe this time, I’ll trust following my bliss, otherwise, I’ll be doomed to repeat past mistakes.

This year, I’m going back for graduate work in research…maybe I can clean up the self-care guide from 2012 with current research. Maybe I can fix this self-care guide to be potentially beneficial to many more people (beyond my stressed-out friends). I don’t know, but I think I found my package at the right time.

I don’t know how or when, but I will expand this self-care package -It’s easy to use and read, because I created it for already stressed people. I knew the state of mind people are in when burnt out or during the decent (been there, done that). Again, hopefully, I can help even more people, those that I think the world ignores (functioning adults just holding on). That might be a nice contribution, even if it’s a volunteer thing, we will see what happens…

Author: Sparkle

Recovering perfectionist encouraged to blog so I no longer over-think and try to produce the best-written items in the world. Just trying to write, even if it's not perfect. It will help me along my journey and might help another person too.

Leave a Reply

